Confession of a Wussy

10441935_10154426284000602_5131990478211163080_n

I have a confession to make.

I suffer from gymtimidation. It’s ridiculous. I mean, I’m in decent shape and not ashamed of my body. I don’t have any strange feature that cause folks to stare. I make my living as a media representative for crying out loud!! (Now there’s an outgoing personality kind of job for ya!) But dudes, I am uber shy when it comes to gyms.

Case in point. I joined a new gym almost a week ago. It’s really nice, pretty affordable, and one block away from the apartment. And so far the people (ok, one person) I’ve met are super friendly and nice. I joined this gym because it leaves me no excuses whatsoever to not do strength work on a regular basis (or, let’s not kid ourselves, at all), and I plan to do Body Pump twice a week. However, Tuesday morning rolled around and I straight up chickened out. Went for a run alone instead (and it was a lovely morning, as you can see in the photo).

Seems this is a personality flaw I need to tackle, and soon. Like tomorrow morning soon. Like I HAVE TO MAKE MYSELF walk into that darn gym, figure out which classroom to go to and participate in the class. Sheesh. I’m a grown-ass woman. Things like this should not be an issue. Time to put on my big girl panties and get over it already!

Do you suffer from the same affliction? Any ideas on how to get past it?

 

Confession of a Wussy

Leave a Reply

