Summer running/summer diet

4

This week is crazy weather for running! I mean it’s super humid here in Northern Virginia this week, and mostly rainy and grey. You’d think the rain would alleviate the muggy feeling in the air, but it really just adds to it. I don’t mind much, but it’s kind of screwing with my running schedule. I did manage to make it out for a few easy miles yesterday before it got too oppressive. But this morning I was forced to resort to HIIT on the apartment fitness room treadmill.

HIIT (or high-intensity interval training) is one of the strategies I’m adding to my fitness plan to try and lose some of the fluff that still persists around my middle.

I’m also adding in as much raw and cooked veg and fruit as I can. Which translates into a lot of this:

HOLY COW sweetgreen is my favorite salad joint for a reason! Sooo goooodddd....
HOLY COW sweetgreen is my favorite salad joint for a reason! Sooo goooodddd….

I’ve also been trying to stay hydrated and beat bloating with these two tricks I picked up as I was browsing through books and on the internet:

3

The pink jar? That’s Jillian Michaels’ anti-bloat/detox drink. It’s all over Pinterest, but I can’t seem to find the original source. So, here’s the recipe:

60oz distilled water, 1 Tbs cranberry juice, 1 Tbs lemon juice, 1 bag of dandelion root tea, brewed. Mix it all up and drink the entire batch each day.

It’s pretty good man. Not sure if it actually helps bloating or not, but it’s not hurting me so I’m doing it. Makes me drink about a gallon of water a day either way, so that’s good!

Also I’ve been sipping on hot water with lemon, ah la Maria Menounos’ advice in her new book “The EveryGirl’s Guide to Diet and Fitness.” The book itself is really geared towards folks who are starting from scratch, but this tip has really been good so far! I’m planning to keep that up as well.

All that being said, I plan to make a few tweaks:

  • Order “light” dressing on salads from my sweet sweet sweetgreen
  • Drink a full glass of water between each alcoholic beverage
  • Eliminate beans and grains
  • Try to get a glass of fresh green juice in every afternoon as a pick-me-up

I really hope to start seeing some results here soon. It’s frustrating to be exercising and eating relatively healthy overall and STILL have pudge around the middle!

Do you have any tricks you use to tighten up for the summer? I’d love to hear them!

Summer running/summer diet

Leave a Reply

