Dreaming of Marathons

securedownload

I am not a patient person. When I want to do something I want to do it right now. Historically, this character flaw trait has gotten me into some sticky situations. Generally speaking; bad haircuts, big money-sucks, stressful late night drives across state lines…. you know. No matter how aware of this particular issue of mine I am, and how hard I try to be more patient, I still struggle. It’s a hard life you guys.

Right now I’m totally eager to begin marathon training. Problem is, that doesn’t start up until June. June 23 to be precise. And it’s KILLING me. I know, I know….. I need to make sure I have a good base. Avoid burnout before I even start. Focus on strength and consistency. Yeah, that’s great and all, but I have kind of accomplished all my running goals thus far. My next goal is to run that darn marathon – and I am ready to start working on it! DYING over here.

So, since I really can’t start the training plan just yet I’m doing everything else I can to stave off that impatience of mine. I’ve picked a training plan. Hal Higdon’s Novice 2. Has anyone ever used this one, or any of his? I mean, I know he’s the godfather of running plans, so it should be fine right? I wanted to be all ambitious and go for the Intermediate 1 plan, but decided since this is my first marathon I better play it safe. Also, I apparently am going to need to figure out what kind of cross training I want to do. I guess it doesn’t matter too much….

I also know I need to get some new running togs – and that’s not cheap! My current shoes are the kind I always get – the cheapest ones on sale at Marshall’s or TJ Maxx. I think for the marathon I’ll go big and actually purchase whatever kind of running shoe the folks at the actual running store suggest. I better start saving my pennies now! Also, today I realized that I apparently own exactly two pairs of running shorts and, like, maybe 5 bras. That needs to be remedied too. A girl can only do laundry so many times a week! So, yeah. The game plan from now until June 23 is to shop for running stuff!

Oh yeah, and run and stuff too…

 

Dreaming of Marathons

Leave a Reply

