I’m baaaccckkkk

securedownload3

Hi there! Wow, I DID NOT mean to be gone so long! However, while it may have been quiet on the blog front, there has been so much going on! Let’s make this a quick re-cap post, shall we? I’ll jump back on track afterwards and we can get back to sharing nerdy running tales, yes?

Let me begin by saying that I reallyreallyreallyreally love that the weather has finally warmed up and that the sun is out early and late these days! As you can see above, it’s really freaking pretty in North Virginia at this time of the year and I am making the most of it! As a matter of fact, I feel kind of panicky when I have be in the office, or do something when I feel like I should be running. You know that feeling? Like the days are soo nice and are passing sooo fast you are almost afraid you won’t get everything done that you want to?  Yeaaaahhhh.

So, I’ve been doing my best. Let’s see. Where to start? Let’s start with successes first.

securedownload
Holy COW that race was hard! Well played, USMC, well played…

Ya’ll I ran the Marine Corps 11.75k! Ran and finished. Which means I am now IN THE MARINE CORPS MARATHON!!!!! Dudes, I am so excited! This is huge! And scary as hell. Training starts in June, so I’ve been focusing on getting more consistent with running and trying to finally start achieving that goal I’ve had of running 100 miles a month. Yeah, that would be good. I want to have a good base before I get super serious.

As part of that effort, I am proud to say that I have actually made some progress on the consistency front.

securedownload2

I have run:

  • Early in the morning
  • On vacation
  • With the dog
  • At the boyfriend’s house

None of this is really normal for me, so I’m pretty proud of myself thus far. Also, how funny is that sign? I love these Virginia trails.

Now, on the failures:

I didn’t get to run the American Odessy after all. Which kind of broke my heart and I thought many sad panda thoughts when the rest of the team posted their 1 MILLION pictures to Facebook. Sigh. I guess I will just have to keep chasing that unicorn.

Also – that whole “Whole 30” thing???? Disaster. Not because it’s a bad program. Because I’m a vegan/vegetarian (when I stretch it) darn it. All the meat just grossed me out. And no wine?? Who am I kidding??  That being said, I’m still pursuing cleaner eating, both for vanity’s sake and for good running karma. I’ve been reading some more vegan/veggie books to try and figure out what works best for me and we will have to chat about that further in another post.

So, there’s a short (ha!) recap of the past… like… month! What have you guys been up to??

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m baaaccckkkk

Leave a Reply

