Whole30 on a Budget

securedownload

Today is Day #1 of my Whole30! I’ll do some reporting on progress/impressions as I go (not every day because how BORING would that be?), but today I thought I’d share my plan for doing this sucker on a budget.

Let’s start with just laying this out on the line: I’m single, meaning I have only one income (albeit less mouths to feed/personalities to please). I also just moved to a more expensive neighborhood with higher rent, and no furniture (starting from scratch). However, I apparently make enough money that I owe Uncle Sam taxes this year – and this is tax month. Sooooo….. keeping down costs, and this includes food costs, is pretty essential this month. Gotta have money left over to pay the rent!

That being said, I don’t understand why people say this is going to cost them so much more money from what they usually eat! I actually think I’m going to end up saving money on grocery bills this month, as I won’t be eating lunch out much and won’t be buying things like alcohol, cheese, chips, etc. And I proved this to myself at the store last night. That photo above? That’s what I bought. The list:

  • 4 lbs of ground chicken (granted, not the organic one, but the package at least says that it’s “natural” whatever that means
  • 16 oz of mushrooms
  • A dozen organic eggs
  • 2 lbs of brussel sprouts (fresh)
  • 6 cans of green beans
  • 1 bottle of Cholula hot sauce (probably the one most expensive item in the cart)
  • 1 can of coconut milk (for coffee)
  • 1 red onion
  • And not pictured here I purchased 2 12-packs of flavored Lacroix water

Now, granted, I had a base of groceries at home already, which includes:

  • A few bags of spinach and kale
  • Garlic
  • Spices
  • Frozen veggies
  • A few eggs
  • Some canned tomatoes and stuff

So, perhaps if I was starting from complete scratch it would have been a little pricey. But really now.

Onto more mechanics of this thing. I did like the book said and sat down the other day and planned out basically what I was going to eat for three meals/any snacks for the week. I don’t require a lot of variety, and am not someone who normally does this planning thing too well, so I kept it simple. I’ll share that later this week, trust me, it’s nothing special! I also took the afternoon yesterday to cook all this stuff up and portion out my lunches (to take to work) so that I’m not stressed out each morning. I pre-cooked the breakfast and dinner stuff, but will portion them out as I go, since I mostly eat both of those meals at home. To make this program seem less restrictive and to be realistic already (I simply won’t eat stuff I don’t like in the long run) I purchased things I LIKE. I LOVE Brussels spouts! I like canned green beans. Mushrooms are to die for (especially if you sauté them up nice).

This morning I woke up feeling prepared. It was easy-peasy to warm up breakfast, pack up lunch and snacks for work, and head out the door. So far, the plan is working. It will be a challenge to keep it up for 30 days, but day one is off to a good start!

Whole30 on a Budget

Leave a Reply

