Passion that Leads to Simplicity

6048_516336171893_2956598_n

What does running mean to you? I don’t spend a lot of time pondering the meaning of life (oi vey) or meditating on the reason I love to run. Which is probably not the coolest thing to admit in public! Ha! However, the other day I stumbled across this post at one of my favorite blogs, “Be More With Less.” It’s actually a guest post from another favorite blogger, Matt Frazier over at “No Meat Athlete.” He speaks about how decisions about a variety of things including his diet, his job and his running led to a more simple life over time. What he said really spoke to me about how I want to “engineer my life.”

I never in a million years thought I would be a runner. It was only upon joining the Army and being forced to run/encountering some extremely stressful times that I found my zen. Yes, I would absolutely say that running is my sanity. You can always tell when I’m super stressed out because that is when my running seems to really spike.

I also love simplicity in most things. I hate complicated stuff – lines at stores, too many hoops to jump through to accomplish something that should be easy, drama, etc. I find that the more time I spend focusing on running, other things seem to simplify as well. I eat better and pretty much the same thing all the time. (Remind me to tell you about the year I spent eating rice and beans at least twice a day, because I was too busy running and working to care) My daily schedule is greatly simplified (work/run/eat).

While running is my passion, and yeah, I think I can call it a passion at this point – I don’t think this phenomenon only applies to running. I think any passion can lead in a similar direction. The more you focus on what is truly important to you, what you love, the less other things matter. I love that when I’m really running often and well, I automatically live the rest of my life in a simpler way. The whole picture is more… whole.

 

 

 

Passion that Leads to Simplicity

2 thoughts on “Passion that Leads to Simplicity

Leave a Reply

