Team Red, White & Blue

1528558_10152158268613656_25017983_n

I’ve never been one of those people who loved to run with others. Running for me is a solitary activity, a meditation of sorts. There have been times where it was the ONLY time I had alone. It has been my stress relief. It has been a great way to stay sane. But, it has not been something that I generally loved sharing with a large group of people.

A few months ago, right about the time I was starting up this little blog, I was dragged into a group run by a friend of a friend. She told me about this cool group of veterans who run and do other physical activities together. It sounded like a good idea at the time. That is, until the first run at 0530 in the morning…..

It was a blast!

Team Red, White & Blue has completely changed my attitude when it comes to the social aspect of running. Holy cow, I love these guys! And it is so much easier to run a handful of miles when you have people to talk to and to keep you motivated. This group is probably the only reason I am still running in the winter.

The photo above is from last night’s run. We met up at the Alexandria city hall, ran around Old Town Alexandria (Virginia) in the dark and damp, and then stopped into a favorite local bar, Bilbo Baggins, for a craft beer and some comraderie. I got home later in the evening so glad I had pried myself off the couch and gone out. This group running thing is a lot more fun than I had ever expected!

If you’re in the area you should join us!

Team RWB’s mission is to enrich the lives of America’s veterans by connecting them to their community through physical and social activity.

Team Red, White & Blue

Leave a Reply

