Welcoming December with a Half

securedownload

December running has kicked off to a good start! I welcomed the last month of 2012 in with my first half-marathon (running anyhow)! Early this cold Sunday morning I found myself at the Prince William Forest Park, in Northern Virginia, preparing for the “Run for the Wounded Warriors” half marathon. The course description promised “rolling hills,” and let me tell ya – they did not disappoint! Holy COW my legs were tired when I got done! But, the beautiful scenery really made it all worthwhile.

The race was small, with only a handful of folks and I loved it! The course was super challenging for me, but I realized about halfway through that although all the uphills were KILLING me, I felt really good otherwise. Meaning my next half will be smooth sailing. Hopefully. I would really like to run a local half marathon every month. January, however, is looking a little bleak when it comes to races.

Anyhow, I really enjoyed the run! It kicked the year’s end off on a high note, following a solid 84 miles for the month of November. I’m entering my third month of running for reals and breaking all my records for the past year, so that’s exciting! I can’t wait to see what the rest of the year has in store!

What have you guys been up to?

Welcoming December with a Half

Leave a Reply

